Advice for a simple boxing strength and conditioning workout

Tommy2D

White Belt
@White
Reaction score
I just would like a bit of advice from guys with a lot more experience than me.

I’m a boxing hobbyist and get to the gym on average three times a week, to fill in the gaps and help me when I do train I would like to start doing something extra. Ideally something which would take about an hour in total i.e. 30 mins strength + 30 mins conditioning, can be done from home/work 2-3 times a week. Reasons for I work in healthcare which includes long days and regular 24 hour on-calls leaving me with limited time/recovery to balance my relationships and hobbies.

I have something of a plan.

Strength Work Would be:

Band Bulgarian Split Squats
Band Push Ups
Band High Pulls
Band Pull Aparts

3 sets of 10 (20 on pull aparts). Bands allow me to workout when I have to stay at the hospital overnight once or occasionally twice a week.

Then the conditioning portion would just be Ross Enamaits burpee conditioning

Maybe chuck in some neck bridging if I have extra time.

In the back of my mind and given my piss poor recovery I may drop the strength work and just do burpee conditioning and shadow boxing – should take an hour or less, I don’t need anything and can be done anywhere.

Any advice appreciated

You looking for band/body workouts for the hospital nights or weighted options for your 3 gym days?

Band/bodyweight stuff for hospital nights and at home on days when there isn't any boxing classes. The three gym days I'm at the boxing club so sparring, heavy bag, mitt work, etc - we don't use weights during the classes minus some medicine/slam balls and handweights.

If you have the room to bring a jump rope, that and some banded shadow boxing with band push ups/ squats can break a sweat and get heart rate up without running around the property.