Denied ammo purchase in California

Protectandserve

Silver Belt
@Silver
Reaction score
Tried to buy ammo for the first time since CA passed the idiocy of ammo background checks. Promptly got denied since I moved since I last bought a gun.

So I'm an active duty cop, carrying a gun in the store under my Tshirt but can't buy ammo...

DOJ makes you register on their site or you continue to get denied apparently.

Fuck it Corona Virus can have this state.

I would've thought the law would have had exemptions for active duty officers. Sounds to me like you need to make a trip to a neighboring state and buy some ammo in bulk.

Do the FFLs also charge you to run the background check for ammo purchases?

While this may seem like a controversial argument, I can at least "resp"...er...understand if a place decides to consistently apply a law (however stupid it is) across the board, to include LE. While I am generally against most gun control measures, I like how it can potentially rally LE to the side of law abiding citizens.

Full disclosure: I say this as a Canadian, where many of my colleagues don't have a personal stake in private gun ownership, because the laws simply don't apply to them and they're content to shoot once a year and stay in their little "training bubbles". [/rant]

I don't think you being a cop has any relevance to the situation. Cops and everyday citizens have the same rights when it comes to ammo, so I'm OK with that being applied equally to everybody. But background checks for ammo... people living in California deserve everything they get when they vote for people drafting this kind of legislation.

Tried to buy ammo for the first time since CA passed the idiocy of ammo background checks. Promptly got denied since I moved since I last bought a gun.

So I'm an active duty cop, carrying a gun in the store under my Tshirt but can't buy ammo...

Just apply at MCSO and join a free state.