Ethan tries to suck less

Ethan

Green Belt
@Green
Reaction score
Hey all, long time no post so here's a new log. Can't find my old one.
Basic details: 30 years old, 180lbs, haven't been lifting consistently in 2022 and need to change that. Washed up Judo black belt, semi competitive BJJ blue belt
Lifetime PR's: 440sq/245bp/505dl
Goals: stay healthy, feel strong, look good, train BJJ without fucking myself up.

Training: Basically push/pull/squat 3x per week. I do all 3 every session but only one heavy, the other 2 are alternate movements or accessory work. BJJ 6-10x per week depending on if I get morning sessions in. Conditioning (fucking around with a kettlebell and a slam ball) daily mostly.

Personal life stuff: I work as an engineer doing consulting work about 80% of the time, the other 20% I spend skippering sailing yachts, mostly delivering boats and whatnot.

Essentially I want to feel good, not be too weak, offset my office based day job, and enjoy life. Welcome to my boring as shit training log!

Christmas Day fuckabout:
Went in with a buddy to alleviate some holiday boredom.

Front squat up to 3x3x225
Cleans up to 3 singles at 185
OHP x a lot x 95lbs
Face pulls x a million
Flow rolling, no gi, 1x 45min round.

Been on a boat for 2 weeks so I've been stiff and sore. Felt good to get some work in.

A few more concrete goals:

1) Squat 500lbs for a single

I should have done this years ago. A combination of consistency, simpler training (i.e. staying off the fucking internet and not overthinking shit), going to bed, and not eating like a complete asshole will get me there soon.

2) Bench 315

My bench is low because it's technically awful. I'm working with a coach when the new year comes to fix my technique and help rehab my garbage shoulders.

I should set a deadlift goal but I very rarely deadlift anymore. My heavy pulls are generally cleans these days.

Another unstructured day. Was annoyed as shit so went to the gym to avoid yelling at family members.