Heel hooks

deadshot138

Gold Belt
@Gold
Reaction score
After watching Gordon Ryan in ADCC, I'm betting we'll start seeing a lot more heel hooks at our respective gyms. I've been grappling for 14 years and never really got good at leg locks due to their inherent danger to training partners. If you apply them slowly they're fairly easy to escape, but setting them on too strongly can cripple your partner and get you kicked out of the gym. Because of this, I usually avoid them because I don't like learning submissions halfway and have them not work if I need them to. What do you guys do in regards to training leg locks?

After watching Gordon Ryan in ADCC, I'm betting we'll start seeing a lot more heel hooks at our respective gyms. I've been grappling for 14 years and never really got good at leg locks due to their inherent danger to training partners. If you apply them slowly they're fairly easy to escape, but setting them on too strongly can cripple your partner and get you kicked out of the gym. Because of this, I usually avoid them because I don't like learning submissions halfway and have them not work if I need them to. What do you guys do in regards to training leg locks?
Sounds to me like a focus to controlling the leg and the overall position would be a great asset to your leglock game. The more control you have, the less rushed you are to finish. Learn how to tie your butterfly, x-guard, etc. to your leglock game, practice sweeps and chains from leglock positions, refine your control so that you don't even have to leglock your man from a leg control position and see where it goes from there.

risk/reward on using them is great for you but terrible for your training partners, i stay away from using them in sparring for such reasonings

good to know and drill, if you want to compete then should be familiar with them