How do you guys feel about 5x5's or 6x6's for...

TeTe

🤡🌎
Staff member
Senior Moderator
Reaction score
Building strength AND muscle mass?

There's a lot of conflicting information out there.. including on the BB forums about what good the lower rep/ heavier weight programs can do. Some say you can still build mass while doing this while other say you should always stick to 8-12 rep ranges if you are trying to build muscle.

I've been working on the 6x6 for about eight months now with slow strength gains. But I'm also trying to recomp my physique at the same time.

The thing is, I obviously want to build both at the same time so I'd like to stick with something that will hit on both. Newb gains are out of the question here as I've some done some form of lifting over the past eight years or so. Albeit, I was on an awful diet and not really pushing myself in the gym for the first six years. I was lifting without really pushing it because I was boxing and didn't really want to gain weight. Now that my goals have changed, I really want to dial in the nutrition and training aspect of things.

total time training doesn't equate to not being able to make beginner gains. I would run some for of linear progression for as long as possible and you might surprise yourself especially if you in a caloric surplus. After that you will have decide what you want to tailer your training toward your goals for.

total time training doesn't equate to not being able to make beginner gains. I would run some for of linear progression for as long as possible and you might surprise yourself especially if you in a caloric surplus. After that you will have decide what you want to tailer your training toward your goals for.
Yeah, I definitely know I have a lot of room to improve and a lot of that is because of my shitty diet for so many years.

I'm thinking the 5x5 or 6x6 might be best now for both since I have a lot to gain.

5x5 will most certainly put meat on you.