Joint mobility imbalances

deadshot138

Gold Belt
@Gold
Reaction score
Been paying more attention to how things feel when I lift lately and have noticed a discrepancy in mobility in the joints on my left and right side. For instance, when racking the bar for a back squat, my left shoulder has better mobility than my right, which leads to the bar being slightly lower on my back on that side and throws off the mechanics of the lift. Also noticed my left hip is more mobile than my right, leading to hip shift if I am not paying enough attention while lifting. I know the simple answer is probably "just stretch them both the same and eventually the lagging side will catch up" but my question is how? What are some mobility routines you guys use? Too many to choose on YT and being a noob, I'd like some tutelage on the matter from experienced people if you're willing to share. Thanks.

Not sure I would just say "find Stretches" as it could be many things causing those imbalances. One thing to consider is more unilateral movements. You should be able to see which side is weak or be able to pinpoint areas a bit more and doing more unilateral should isolate those weak areas. My sense is you would really need someone who is sharp on movement patters to break you down.

Also - for him/glute strengthening and activation, I utilize a lot of small hoop banded movements...every day before I lift and this has helped me a lot. Banded clamshells, glute bridges (can go with one leg at a time), side steps, in and outs, banded RDLs (need longer band), banded psoas march,etc...

Follow Squat University on any number of platforms or buy the book the The Squat Bible, he breaks down how to test and correct joints for mobility issues as they are generally more complicated then needing to just stretch them out. I found warmups are very valuable if you have any imbalances or mobility issues.

For some reason I thought Kelly Starrett was maligned as a hack. Is he reputable?