Leg Fractures

Randy Fandy Fo Fanders

I’m gonna take my pants off and kick your ass.
@Brown
Reaction score
After seeing another MMA fighter suffer a snapped tibia last night, it made me begin to wonder about the statistics behind leg fractures in kickboxing vs leg fractures in MMA.

I've been watching MMA for a long time but i'm relatively new to kickboxing so i don't have historical knowledge of fighter injuries over the years. For some of you long-time kickboxing fans out there, how many leg snaps have you seen throughout the years? Is the number comparable to MMA?

Also makes me begin to question if the leg fractures in MMA are a technique-related issue in some way.

Discuss.

I am not expert but I've been following MMA since UFC 1 and got into Muay Thai in 2006 while in Thailand.I've always been more into Muay Thai since...however it seems that the dreaded leg snap happens more in MMA. However, I am no expert and haven't seen every fight. Just my 2 cents.

I can say confidently, I have seen a couple of thousand MMA fights in around 21 years and probably less than a thousand kickboxing and Muay Thai combined.

I have seen more "floppy snaps" in regional level MMA than high level, i.e, UFC, ONE etc.

I have seen a handful of them in kickfighting but more in regional level. Think "C level" Muay Thai in UK and amateur kickboxing (without shinpads).

Purely personal viewing, I assume that kickfighting experience negates much more of the risk with experience. MMA overall has abysmal kicking displays, even today. Seems that it is still bottom of the pecking order in practice.

When you throw a kick badly, you risk the rest of the fight.

I've been watching both mma and kickboxing for over 10 years and have seen it happen 3 or 4 times in MMA and 2 times in Kickboxing. I can't remember ever seeing it in Muay Thai. In most cases it was in heavier weight classes like 85kg, 95kg or open weight.