MMA takedowns as a southpaw?

GoatArtemLobov

Brown Belt
@Brown
Reaction score
For which takedowns should I go when I switch to southpaw?
Everyone keeps telling me it's the exact same thing as in the orthodox stance (as everyone says for striking, but actually it's NOT) but the doubles aren't there, the setups aren't the same etc.
I have no deep wrestling knowledge so could anyone give me two or three go to setups and takedowns so I have some wrestling offense to threaten my opponent with when I fight from the southpaw stance?

Last edited:
Needs more specificity; is this a case where you are leading with your right, versing someone leading with their left - ie, a mirrored stance matchup? In such cases, knee taps become much closer, attacking with overhand lefts and continuing the momentum through the opponent being a classic combination. Underhook throwbys, slidebys, and duckunders also feature big

Last edited:
Needs more specificity; is this a case where you are leading with your right, versing someone leading with their left - ie, a mirrored stance matchup? In such cases, knee taps become much closer, attacking with overhand lefts and parlaying the momentum being a classic combination. Underhook throwbys, slidebys, and duckunders also feature big

Yes, it's a mirrored stance matchup.
Ok kneetaps, gonna work on this.
What about single legs also?

Singles yes. In general if you can get in on a leg take it.

Also if you’re feeling really wild you could throw in a Kani-basami since you’re kind of already in position vs orthodox. This probably won’t make you too popular with training partners though.

Yes, it's a mirrored stance matchup.
Ok kneetaps, gonna work on this.
What about single legs also?

Snatching a single leg is a good set up for pulling the opponent into a double or bodylock or go-behind and finishing, yes.