Should I Give Up on Takedowns, and Pull Guard?

sb413197

Silver Belt
@Silver
Reaction score
I’m a 41 year old physician who has been training about 9 years pretty consistently. I have long been better at top game than guard - I am fairly stocky and prefer a more incremental game. Most of my training has been starting on the knees with minimal experience in full resistance sparring in takedowns. I have always favored safety when training - and have built my game around that in part - I felt like longevity was key and I enjoy BJJ and want to do it very long term. I have a pressure style and don’t do well in wild fast-reaction positions.

A number of months ago, my gym started sparring from standing. I really enjoyed this - I always wanted to get good at takedowns, not only because it fits with my top heavy style but it has real self defense value and was a new challenge. I quickly found, as expected, that you have to spar hard to improve - and I feel like I made a lot of progress over the months, getting increasingly comfortable with clinch/trip and single leg takedowns, and hitting them regularly in sparring.

However, I had a lot of hard falls - messing up on the ground might get you swept/subbed/passed, but messing up when getting thrown and not falling correctly means you fall on your face. Thinking back I had a lot of near-catastrophies where I landed on my head and could have gotten a spinal injury, or on my shoulder etc.

Last week, I “zoned out” and did something REALLY stupid while falling reflexively (posted with one hand), and suffered a grousome elbow dislocation in training. Completely a boneheaded error...and yet thinking back it could have easily happened earlier any number of times...maybe even something worse.