Which Gloves Should I get Next? (Large Hands)

vision1

Brown Belt
@Brown
Reaction score
I currently have R2C C17 (16oz Velcro), which I’ve been using for a couple years now. They’ve seen many rounds and it’s time for an upgrade.

I’ve been fairly satisfied with my C17s, enough to recommend them to several friends, but there are definitely some areas I’d like to improve.

1) Size – These are small on me. The width is okay but the length is not. My fingers go all the way to the end, then when I make a fist, the part of the glove that contacts the bag is not ideal. I can also only get 3 layers of wrap over my knuckles, any more and the pressure becomes unbearable with a clenched fist. Finally, my thumbs go numb if I throw too many power shots because they get jammed on the bag. I don’t know if this is due to the thumb compartment being too short or the foam compressing too much over my knuckles. I’m 6’3 and my hands are at the very least average size for my height.

2) Wrist support – I get lingering wrist pain all the time when I’m boxing. It affects my main sport and my job and day-to-day activity.

Do you guys have any recommendations? The wrist support should be an easy fix by switching to lace-up but I need help with the sizing. I’ve been considering custom Top Boxer gloves but maybe some of their stocks fit bigger than R2C? I’ve also been looking into Sabas but again I’m not sure about fit. I’m considering a Mexican style glove this time around instead of Japanese. I only spar occasionally and I can keep my R2Cs for that.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks

TopBoxer stock Win1 fits longer hands than R2C C17. Not sure on Alien as I've not had them at 16oz which is what I've had R2C C17s at. Sabas Pro Series fits longer hands better than R2C C17 also.