Why have gamers become so entitled?

Zazen

Silver Belt
@Silver
Reaction score
I've been gaming for 30 years now and I have never seen the gaming community so entitled as they are now.

Last week we had a Nintendo direct and there were a few interesting games but nothing too major. I think it is safe to say that Japan is less equipped than America to deal with the work at home situation.

Last night we had a state of play that got ripped to shreds by the online community. Personally, I thought it was fine. Sony came out and released a statement previously that the state of play was to focus on game's from June 2020's presentation. I personally loved the FF7R announcement, I'm hyped to go back and play again along with the DLC.

Even outside of these two events there is nonstop bitching about how games should be free, how every game should be AAA.

Each time an indie is shown people mock it and call it trash yet I find those games to be some of the most creative and fun even over AAA games.

I've never seen this growing up as much, people were grateful for the games they were getting and we had great conversations about games. Now, nothing ever seems to be good enough for people.

What has changed?

Back in the day, people had access to the same magazines showing the same games, so most people looked forward to the same title.

But because of the current age, and the internet, there are games for every type of gamer. You dont show one game, and a group of people are disappointed, that in addition to just the sheer amount of diversity in gaming, means that there is a propensity to disappoint plenty of people and plus gaming is mainstream + growing rapidly year on year.

I also think people are in an echo chamber when browsing the internet. Something that seems like a big deal to you, is probably not even a big deal to a majority of people.

Back in the day, people had access to the same magazines showing the same games, so most people looked forward to the same title.