Kikskin Kompetitor Review

AgentCooper

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I finally ordered one of these gi's. I had a hard time deciding to pull the trigger since I've never seen anyone wearing one so I didn't have much to go on other than pictures and a TON of great customer service from Caree at Kikskin sales.

My main concern was the sizing. I usually have a difficult time getting a gi that fits well in the upper body. I'm 6'3" but weigh in the 170lb range so most gi's fit me a bit sloppy in the chest area. I ended up going with the A4.

A little background here though. I've been training BJJ for close to 10 years now so I've had my share of gi's. I've tried a lot of them and for the money I've always liked Atama doulbe weaves. Recently I've tried a KORAL, Sirius, ISAMI, and the newer Atama Mundial all of which just didn't cut it for me. Yes I'm a "gi snob" and I admit it!

On to the Kikskin........I bought the blue Kompetitor gi. Ordered on a Mon. and I got it on Thurs. so shipping was pretty fast for reg. UPS ground. Right out of the bag it fit pretty well but needed one wash and dry to shrink to my liking. Once out of the dryer I put it on and right away noticed that this may be "the gi" for me. The body fits great. A nice slim cut through the armpits and chest area. With your belt tied it leaves just the right amount of skirt. The arms are also cut a bit more slim and taper down toward the wrist. Length of the arms is also right on the money. The weave is a gold weave so it feels strong but can breath well. The collor is kind of "puffy" but very soft so it doesn't get in the way etc. VERY nice collar.

The pants are just as good. Nice length and great cut. Not baggy at all and the front panels are doubled up from the thigh down. They feel VERY durable. The ties are also nice and it has 3 loops to keep it from coming up over the top of the pants.