The Striking of Conor McGregor (with GIF's) -- RETRO BUMP

Negative Zero

Purple Belt
@purple
Reaction score
Unlike what I have vehemently claimed in the past, I am no striking expert. So to save time feel free to enjoy the .gifs and ignore what I have to say about them, though I do feel I have something to add.

Conor McGregor has the potential to be one of the very best strikers in the UFC. He mixes "unorthodox" techniques like wheel kicks and tornado kicks with technical boxing. Not just technical punching but actual technical boxing. His stance, footwork, and posture are excellent, he chooses his angles well, picks up on opponent's weaknesses quickly, and is accurate.

I re-watched his UFC debut and despite how short it was, I found a plethora of great moments that showcased his striking skill, or at the very least how superior it was to Marcus Brimage's.

mcgregorfootwork.gif

The opening exchange demonstrates his solid footwork, posture, and strike placement. Marcus keeps wading in headfirst with strikes, while Conor stands upright and patiently times his shots. He may have already known Marcus was prone to dropping his head down but if not he realized it immediately and throughout the fight he punished him with either chopping left hands or upward strikes as he came in low.

This gif also shows Conor's superior footwork. He faces Marcus's centerline and as soon as his feet aren't oriented this way he resets back to the center as Marcus's feet are sort of all over the place. After the initial exchange, Marcus approaches Conor off to the side while Conor is still facing him, and Conor throws an upward strike, a knee, that glances off Marcus's head and if Marcus had ducked down slightly more as he tends to, the fight would have been over extremely fast.

mcgregorfrontkick.gif

As Conor enters striking range, Marcus predictably drops down slightly to strike or defend and Conor strikes upward down the middle with a front kick.

mcgregorelbowcounter.gif