Which BJJ gym to choose?

M0ller

White Belt
@White
Reaction score
I have two options with choice of gym as a beginner

gym 1: Instructor just became a purple belt, rest of the guys at the gym is white belts, the gym is 2-3 years old. Its cheap and i will be able to train bjj classes 2-3 days a week.

gym 2: Instructor is a brown belt and world champion in his class, rest of the gym is blue and purple belts, its a little more expensive, and i will probably only be able to train bjj regular class once a week, and a fundamental class once a week. The instructor told be i could take up 1 or 2 no gi luta livre classes on the side though.

which gym should i choose?

Who speaks your language properly?

Well gym 2 sounds awesome, but guess what? As a complete beginner you will progress brilliantly at either gym

Also whichever gym you choose, you can always leave if you wish, it's not a marriage (which technically you can leave too, but that's a whole other story)

Go and train/learn

To start BJJ, gym one would do the job also

My gym was like that for the bunch that was there before me at my gym (that started BJJ about 2 years earlier than me), the coach was a purple belt also. So when I started (2 yeas later) we had a room full of 4 stripes white belts and blue belts, the coach was a brown belt and we had a couple of purple belts from other gyms.

So for me it was the perfect environment to learn, I had a lot of people not that far from my skill level to train with and some guys way above my level to get my ass kicked

Now seven years later the coach is a black belt, we have another black belt, about 7-8 brown belts and a huge number of purple belts and blue belts. The gym as now enough new guys that come in to keep our numbers high.

A suburb club with 50 adult regulars that started from nothing
We have 10 classes a week on the schedule, plus open mats

Small clubs are awesome too

Gym 1?

Cheap , BJJ 3 days a week