Advice for my first AR?

sakfjgadsyukgf

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm in the market for my first gun (definitely no, uh, relation to current events or anything). I've fired other people's guns a decent amount, including growing up, but am definitely a total newbie. I've been looking at AR-15s at a local gun shop, they carry a few Rock River Rage ones (a carbine, another model), and a Ruger I think AR-556. Are these guns OK? Any general advice? I just want something for self-defense and general shooting fun. (I was thinking I'd get a handgun after I get more experience with a rifle). Also I now live in a rural state with few gun rules.

I have a friend with a bunch of guns I can ask advice from, but he lives a few states away, and I don't want to bug him repeatedly with multiple newb questions. He explained the 556/223 concept a bit, though I still don't 100% get it.

Like, I think they're mostly .22 calibers. Is that an OK caliber? Would it really stop someone? They also had one .308, but my friend said that's probably a bit too much. (I've fired his AR and also his AK-47 before).

Would love any general advice! If you think those guns suck, I could travel further to another gun store

Hey guys, I'm in the market for my first gun (definitely no, uh, relation to current events or anything). I've fired other people's guns a decent amount, including growing up, but am definitely a total newbie. I've been looking at AR-15s at a local gun shop, they carry a few Rock River Rage ones (a carbine, another model), and a Ruger I think AR-556. Are these guns OK? Any general advice? I just want something for self-defense and general shooting fun. (I was thinking I'd get a handgun after I get more experience with a rifle). Also I now live in a rural state with few gun rules.