Ruger Scout in 308 win. as all-rounder?

KBE6EKCTAH_CCP

The thin end of the wedge
@Steel
Reaction score
I am seeing this rifle everywhere in the scout rifles rankings, link below.

Given that I really like the concept of the scout rifle (short, reliable, simple for pretty much all uses), I have a hard-on for this model.

Would you recommend it for an absolute noob like myself for occasional medium game hunting with open sights and going to the shooting range?

BTW the love of my life would be a 30-30 Marlin lever, but where I live (Yurrp) I think that this caliber is frown upon for hunting. I don't want to open a can of worms, just mentioning it so you understand that I am attracted to small, simple rifles with an outback taste in them.

https://ruger.com/products/scoutRifle/specSheets/6804.html

Last edited:
I've only heard good things about the Ruger scout. It should be great for what you want to do with it.

The scout rifle design solves a dated issue. Long eye-relief scopes aren't needed when magazines are available. I built a custom scout rifle years ago before magazines. Scopes of that day were limiting.

Ruger actions usually have rough casting.

My opinion.

Have you ever considered a tikka tx3 or something of that sort?

One of those with a 1-8x AR scope would make a nice quick mid range Hunter.

https://www.amazon.com/Bushnell-Riflescope-Illuminated-Variable-Magnification/dp/B07DGSR4HL

I own one with a Leupold 1.5-4x28 Scout scope and I don't like it.

Rather than an "all purpose" rifle, I find it fills a pretty specific role, in the scout configuration; woodland still hunting where you take close snap shots at critters that pop out of the bush. The eyebox isn't very forgiving at maximum magnification and light reflects off of the ocular lens because the scope sits so far forward.

You can mount a scope conventionally, at the sacrifice of the rear sight, but that defeats the purpose of buying a scout, IMO.

I still own it, but I much prefer my Tikka T3x.