Anyone currently doing a [Push|Pull|Legs] split?

Space Engineer**

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Guys,

I've been getting busier with work lately and having to travel each week for a couple days. It's really affecting my old gym split so I've switched to a push pull legs and it seems to be pretty naughty so far.

Anyone else on this split?

If you mean a Full Body program, then yes, I've been running one for the last three months.

The problem with that split is that bench press and squats are done only once a week.

The problem with that split is that bench press and squats are done only once a week.

I must be thinking of a different one, then. I do some form of Squat and Bench three time per week.

I must be thinking of a different one, then. I do some form of Squat and Bench three time per week.

It's split template where pushing exercises are done on one day (i.e. bench, dips etc.), pulling exercises on one day (DL, rows etc.) and leg exercises done on a different day.

If you do it 3 times a week you can squat twice a week. Squat could be thought as a pushing exercise. Then the layout would be; push, rest, pull, rest, legs...

If you do it like 6 times a week (push, pull, legs, rest, repeat) I suggest doing pulling day before pushing because then you have a day in between of deadlifts and squats.

Benching once a week is clearly not enough. 2-4x to get those swole pecs.

Anyways, a push/pull/squat split is one of the most classic splits for a strength training type of template. I do something like this:

Day One;
-Back Squat
-Front squat (assistance)
-box jumps or just nothing

Day Two;
-Bench
-Press
-Dips
-Some tricep work

Day Three;
-Deadlift
-BOR
-Chins/pull downs
-Curls (of course)

My Bench(and Squat for that matter)is so pitiful I need to do some variation of the Lifts at least twice a week to make any progress. And three times is better.

The only Lift I can make progress on training once a week is Deadlifts.