Career fulfillment

SSgt Dickweed

Silver Belt
@Silver
Reaction score
I think I'm at a point in my career where money is getting less of an issue to join or stay in company, I am thinking the next step of my career should be more towards enjoying what I do.

I work in tech and started a new job three months ago. After years of working less than stellar pay, I managed to turn it around during the pandemic. Now, I am able to save and spend more which is great but if anything, it tells me that I need to consider getting a job out of tech, or at least something less corporate.

I kind of feel like the next step should be more of a freelance contractor, where I can take breaks when I want and enjoy long vacations or study a short course if I choose to, but that only solves one part of the problem. I'd like to maybe build a small business with a friend and scale it.

Anyone been where I'm at and how'd you go forward?

If you had one shot, or one opportunity
To seize everything you ever wanted
One moment
Would you capture it or just let it slip?

<5>

c870x524.jpg

job fullfillment is something everyone seeks. Money is HUGE part of fulfillment. But if people arent happy with their job, Ive never understood the just settle attitude some people have. Im not saying quit and be risky, but one should always be looking for how to grow until they reach a spot where they are happy.

If you want something more relaxed and with breaks then starting a small business usually isn't the best idea. Contract work is a better option.

If you've only been saving for three months then I suggest staying longer. Also, discuss with your manager the possibility of taking on different roles that you may find more fulfilling.

Agree. You'll never be 100% happy at a job. It's work in order to get resources in order to fund your lifestyle.

I don't think anyone expects to always be 100% happy at their job.