Steroids in High Level BJJ

Snolla

Brown Belt
Professional Fighter
Reaction score
I have been practicing BJJ for about 10 years now but I've have only recently started following the competitive scene closely. I'm finding that steroids (or at least steroid accusations) are running rampant in the sport.

Is it true that there isn't thorough testing?

This next part is just my opinion but steroid abuse for competition results completely undermines the core philosophy of martial arts which is hard work, dedicated practice, and self-belief. No man should wear a black belt while also filling their body with harmful substances out of fear of not getting the win.

Guys who I assume don't use steroids (Ryan Hall for example) and seem to have a very calm demeanor (Marcelo Garcia as well) are great bastions for the sport but do they compete regularily?

I see a lot of really juicy looking dudes like Gordon Ryan and Lucas Barbosa and if that is the new norm then the pull for young athletes to get into steroids will be at an all time high.

I just can't stand the irony of teaching your students ideas like:

- You learn more from losing than from winning
- Practice and self discipline are what really matters
- You just have to believe in yourself and show up to class
- Technique beats strength

etc....

And then pump yourself up with the juice to remain "competitive" with other "black belts" in high level BJJ. In my opinion, anyone who juices to get a competitive edge is not a black belt in my eyes. The black belt represents mastery over fear and represents dedication to a healthy lifestyle. Steroids directly contradicts this.

Are you a competitive BJJ athlete?

No -> who the fuck cares about what the juice monkeys are doing, stop being a Karen.
Yes -> you're an idiot who will never go anywhere if you don't take steroids.