Social An epic tale of beta!!!

THE Red Beard

FCF Enforcer
Platinum Member
Reaction score
Alright boys and girls...this...THIS right here will be the most epic thing you've read on Sherdog. I'm not putting cliffs so buckle up. As many of you know, I've been obsessed with chess since the beginning of the pandemic. I train probably 2-4 hours a day, waking up at 4 am to get two hours in and then a few hours before bed.
15030.png
15029.png
I have trained more than that but I digress...

I started a chess club at my work (big mistake in hindsight) as a few guys there also liked chess. I played in person against each of them and either had a draw or loss. To be fair, I was working new openings in all but one game. I tried Kings Indian, English Opening...etc. One game I played the best of the three of us using the Italian. I focused on the Evans Gambit as I studied it a ton. I was in the process of studying it when I played in person. I was close but ended up losing in the end game.

I went back to training and vowed that I would beat him soon. I had written down that game and studied it. My ultimate goal and I'm not kidding, is I want to be a GM one day. It's basically my black belt quest I conquered in a few martial art disciplines. Ask @NoGoodNamesLeft how much I play...he knows.

I train hard for about a month focusing exclusively on the Italian game. I run through all the powerful lines on the Evans Gambit and then I come home one day and challenge my foe to another match. We play through the Italian Game and specifically I run the Evans Gambit. He blinders early with his knight and I began to apply pressure on his kingside stopping him from finding safety. I beat him clean. This is where the epic begins.